Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year as a beekeeper and I'm wondering if I can take any honey from my hives, I have a ten frame hive with a deep and two mediums, the top medium has all ten frames totally full of honey and the lower medium has 4 frames full of honey. The eight frame hive has all eight top frames full of honey and the lower has 3 frames full of honey. the rest of the frames are full of larvae and brood. My question is can I harvest any of the honey from either hive or should I leave all the honey for the winter season. If it helps any I live in SC where the winters are fairly mild. Any advise is greatly appreciated. :kn:

·
Registered
180 Posts
You'll likely get several opinions on this....It sounds like your hives are in pretty good shape for the winter, except its August. What do you get for a fall flow in your area? ...and of course you can also feed them in the fall to get to whatever hive weight is typical for your area for overwintering.

From what you post, you could likely take a few frames of honey and call it good, leave the bulk for them and add some supplemental feeding in the fall depending on your flows.

·
Registered
481 Posts
I'm in the same state as you. I have two full supers on one hive, I'm gonna take 75% and then feed.
Colorado?

First year here, but my two mentors would say take the honey and they will put up enough in the fall to make it through the winter. Pollen is not a problem here in the Midland, but nectar is. Mine are still bringing in pollen.

Just went through a hive this weekend exactly like yours and a master beekeeper told us to take the top super full of honey off.

·
Registered
272 Posts
Colorado?

First year here, but my two mentors would say take the honey and they will put up enough in the fall to make it through the winter. Pollen is not a problem here in the Midland, but nectar is. Mine are still bringing in pollen.