Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first year raising these little guys. I have one hive now. My question is, can I build an enclosure around them to keep them warmer and the wind and snow off of them? I purchased a small green house from Harbor Freight to build around them, then thought I better check to see if this is a stupid idea??? I have been feeding them sugar water 50/50,, good or bad idea? They seem to like it but that doesn’t mean it is good to do???
Any resources for wintering would be appreciated. I also, don’t know about disease and mites?
Thank you and sorry for the noob questions, I just don’t want to loose these guys.
Thanks
Sean

·
Registered
2,871 Posts
Hi Sch and welcome to the forum. Over wintering your hive in an enclosed space, especially a greenhouse is a bad idea. Look at the thread in this section a few down from this one and there is a discussion about over wintering indoors. Feeding is a good idea if they need it but you should be feeding 2:1 or 5:3 in the fall because it will take less time for them to dry it. Don't know your temps or feeder you are using, but they won't take it at less than 50 degrees. You should have been testing for mite load throughout the year and treating when necessary. Sometimes a new colony that is virtually mite free when obtained can make it through the first winter. However, it is probably likely that you have a high mite load which will make it difficult for them to survive. Not knowing your mite counts makes this a total guess, but sad to say the odds are against your hive surviving the winter/early spring. Hope I am wrong! J

·
Registered
540 Posts
I don't know what the temperatures or wind are like in Ohio in the winter but I can tell you how I've overwintered in the past in Wyoming, beekeeping is local.