Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When first starting out with a package of bees how many top bars do you start with? All of them?

Mike A.

·
Super Moderator
11,287 Posts
My TBHs (and many others) need ALL bars in place or else there will be unintentional holes/entrance/exits in the hive. They are similar to the ones here ....
http://www.bushfarms.com/beestopbarhives.htm

You could fabricate a divider/folllower board that replaces one or more bars, but I didn't see any advantage to that. From my point of view, that just gives small hive beetles additional places to hide from the bees.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Bush Farms says in order to get the bees to build neat and straight comb do not leave the queen cage in the hive... How do you introduce the queen into the hive from a package of bees?

·
Registered
61 Posts
I'm new to bee keeping, and my package of bee's should ship 04/07/14. I've done a lot of reading and joined two bee clubs. asked lot's of questions.
When the bee's arrive I plan to hang the queen cage between bars 3 and 4 on a 6'' wire. With 12 bars and follower board feeder.
Once the queen is out of the cage. I will move the follower board and feeder to the back of the hive.

·
Vendor
Local feral survivors in eight frame medium boxes.
54,192 Posts
I would always have all the bars in a hive. If you have a follower you could limit them to half of the hive or so (depending on how big half the hive is...). I direct release my queens. Poor queens are an issue and sometimes the bees move next door, but I don't have problems with them leaving the hive unless it's to move next door to another hive which they do whether the queen is caged or not.

http://www.bushfarms.com/beespackages.htm

·
Registered
1,979 Posts