Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year beekeeping and my bees are all pretty calm, so until today I hadn't been stung. Well today after lunch I was at work in my office and when I shifted in my chair I suddenly had a burning pain on the back of my thigh. I pulled down my pants to see what was going on and a bee flew out of my pants. Yesterday after work I did go out to put a jar of syrup in one of the hives, so I am assuming a bee crawled up my pant leg then and hung out there until I sat on her today. Kind of a surprise, but it cured my Friday afternoon post lunch drowsiness pretty quickly. Any one else have an unusual story about getting stung?

·
Registered
113 Posts
Any one else have an unusual story about getting stung?
Probably everyone has a story.

In March I drove down to Oliveras Bees to pick up my first nuc (still my only hive). They opened the nuc and pulled out a few frames so I could see what I was getting. The lid was replaced, we placed it in my trunk and off I went for the easy drive home.

At home I made sure everything was in place then went out for the nuc. Grabbing the box under the rim I was immediately stung on a knuckle. Apparently a bee had a leg or wing caught in the lid and it nailed me. So, stung before I got them out of the car.

·
Registered
87 Posts
This is my first year as well and I’ve been stung numerous times that I can’t even count.
I think it’s the bees way of teaching us how to handle them.
I brought my nucs home at night and placed them by the hive. I opened the entrance on the cardboard nuc a little bit so the could fly around the next day and orientate.
As soon as I opened the entrance to the nuc I got stung on my hand. Bees just poured out.
So my beekeeping career started of with a sting my first minute.

·
Registered
468 Posts