Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
654 Posts
I have never done this before but I have read some things about it. From what I understand it works like little by little with patience eventually the hive expands and then the queen will go in there. Is that right? I will follow this and I hope it works. I wish you luck!!!

·
Registered
516 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
virginia,

This is my first attempt. That is the general idea. I am running with Cleo Hogan's design. I am making some modifications of my own to his design. I think the logic is there for this to work. I hope to get the queen. I will post pics and updates as it progresses.

·
Registered
338 Posts
I may be wrong but there appears to be gaps at the top of your tunnel, that thing needs to be air tight, they WILL try to find the old way in. Every single time you connect a new piece make it so. Painters caulk works extremely well, non toxic and it cuts away fairly easy when you take it all down. ;) Or just staple screen at every crevice.

·
Registered
516 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
djei5,

I could not get it to seal totally, but I did watch them for quite some time and it did not appear they could get through. I may put some caulk around the edge.

·
Registered
338 Posts
djei5,

I could not get it to seal totally, but I did watch them for quite some time and it did not appear they could get through. I may put some caulk around the edge.
Caulk it, they will chew a small crack bigger and you will have totally wasted every single day, believe me, been there.

·
Registered
516 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
I was not going to install the trap funnel till they have built out comb in the hive. This seems to be a big colony. I was worried I may need to take them in a couple of trips.

·
Registered
338 Posts