Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As this is my first year keeping bees, everything is a first. Yesterday was my first robbing raid. I was working in the vicinity of the hives, side by side Langstroths, all afternoon, and i stopped often to watch the bees, so I think I was on the scene early on in the raid. I don't know what protocol is for dress at a robing party, but I'm pretty sure a sweaty black tee shirt isn't on the list, so I got my jacket, veil, and gloves. From advice I read on this list I figured the first thing to do was to block the entrance, which was not as easy to do as I would have thought. The bees kept shoving aside the pieces of wood I propped up. Finally I got the entrance reduced turned around to the small hole and got that plugged. For good measure, I reduced the entrance of the robbing hive to the small hole, too. All the while I smoked the area in front of the hives. Finally they settled down, and a rain shower sent them back inside. As I'll be out of town for two or three weeks, I plan to leave both entrances reduced for now.
I was surprised at the robbing, as both are new colonies, installed from packages in April. I had not noticed any difference in strength during inspection - each hive has almost filled a medium box. Neither is being fed. As amazing as it was to see two hives in mortal combat, I hope it is not a regular thing!

·
Registered
281 Posts
are you sure it was robbing and not just one hive with a bunch of new bees out stretching their wings? I kinda thought the first time i saw a pile o f bees hovering in front and going in and out that it was robbing but eventually figured out/was told it was just new bees out.

how long have the hives been set up?

·
Registered
130 Posts
Davidbee -