Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
575 Posts
NewbeeNnc - congratulations! Getting your hive through the winter is something to strut about. You could feed to give them a pick-up and help you sleep better.

c10250 - Looks great and strong. Those girls look ripe for propagation to splits or swarms.

Wish you guys a great season with loads of fun.:thumbsup:

·
Registered
508 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'm a total newb, so take this for what it's worth, I don't see many bees there. Are you sure that they're OK? Here's what mine did on a warm spring day.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lM0qpkTN7Q0

When I opened the top up, they boiled over. Almost every frame covered. . .
Thanks guys. Hey "c", I was afraid they wouldn't even make it through this year. I lost one that had a huge cluster. However this one had some good winter traits in my opinion. They hardly ate through anything and we had a really bad winter for NC. I noticed this queen started shutting down real early in the fall, that's why the lack of bees. We only had our first above 50 degree day 1 week and 1/2 ago, so I didn't expect much. Just glad to see larva and queen.

Last year was really wet and cool, so I think thats why both of my hives didn't build up well. Just glad I got a survivor.

·
Registered
575 Posts
Thanks guys. Hey "c", I was afraid they wouldn't even make it through this year. I lost one that had a huge cluster. However this one had some good winter traits in my opinion. They hardly ate through anything and we had a really bad winter for NC. I noticed this queen started shutting down real early in the fall, that's why the lack of bees. We only had our first above 50 degree day 1 week and 1/2 ago, so I didn't expect much. Just glad to see larva and queen.

Last year was really wet and cool, so I think thats why both of my hives didn't build up well. Just glad I got a survivor.