Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I opened my hive for the first time this evening. Now I have more questions after than I did before I went in. I am a complete newbie so please help me out. I got this swarm on the evening of 4/17. The weather turned cold and rainy the next day. I borrowed an entrance feeder and fed them 1 qt of sugar water. They were staying all over the outside of the hive. I put on a empty super that I have and put a plastic container with dry sugar in it on top of the frames.

My set up is 8 frame mediums with alternating empty frames and frames with pure wax foundation. Migratory top. Bottom entrance with partial reducer for now.

What I found today when I went in:

Most all of the bees were on the right most 2 frames and the right side of the box. It looked as if they have chewed most of the way foundation except for the last one on the right which they have drawn comb on. The empty next to that one has a very small (3" diameter) of drawn comb. There was still sugar in the container. I did see several with their heads down inside of cells with small yellow tint in the bottom of the cell.

What I could not see:

Queen. Not sure if I got her with the swarm or not. Probably could not find her by by myself anyway.

Eggs/brood/larvae/honey/pollen.

What I did:

Removed the empty super. Put small amount of wet newspaper on top of the frames with a small amount of dry sugar. Removed the chewed foundation. Replaced top.

Sorry I do not have pics. I cannot meet up with my local beek for a couple of weeks. What do you think?

Good? Bad? Indifferent?

·
Registered
378 Posts