Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a medium Nuc on May 21st from a local Beekeeper. I've noticed for the last few days the bees were always underneath the SBB. I thought maybe they were hot. I did my first inspection today and was shocked at what I saw. No brood at all and 2 frames were crawling with SHB larvae. I'm guessing I have about 1,000 bees right now. It looks like this Nuc never had a queen. Only 1 frame has drawn comb that was usable and without SHB larvae. I ordered a Queen from Bee Weaver as soon as I saw what was going on. I'm not sure how successful I will be installing a Queen since they have been without for so long. Right now I have one frame of drawn comb and 9 new frames. Any advice on what to do next? This is my first time posting pics. Hope it works.

http://i986.photobucket.com/albums/ae347/roger2517/Frame5.jpg
http://i986.photobucket.com/albums/ae347/roger2517/Frame4.jpg
http://i986.photobucket.com/albums/ae347/roger2517/Frame3.jpg
http://i986.photobucket.com/albums/ae347/roger2517/Frame2.jpg
http://i986.photobucket.com/albums/ae347/roger2517/Frame1.jpg

·
Registered
10,025 Posts