Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I robbed my hive today. two 10 frame Deep supers fully capped. they weight in at 127lbs totaled after extracted. I cut the comb out of frame and crushed. took 5 hours to crush and drain.

I was wondering what kind of honey it was its lighter then the color of beer or ginger ale. Smell very perfumey and taste very flowery. im new to bees but ive never seen such light colored honey.

I sold a few pints at $12 and quarts for $20 even though I was planning on keeping it all for mead. the crowd of my friend would stop harassing me lol. is this a good price?

·
Registered
324 Posts
What a blessing for your labor and work and alsways thank the bees!!
Sounds like Chinese Tallow Trees but cannot say for sure if you have them in Alabama. They are also called popcorn trees and China Berry or just Tallow trees. I just peeked in on mine this am and it looks and appears that I have sugar syrup in the supers. Its also a little more runny than regular wildflower honey in this area.
It definitely will make great mead but its better table honey or mixed with butter or Bourbon.

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
What a blessing for your labor and work and alsways thank the bees!!
Sounds like Chinese Tallow Trees but cannot say for sure if you have them in Alabama. They are also called popcorn trees and China Berry or just Tallow trees. I just peeked in on mine this am and it looks and appears that I have sugar syrup in the supers. Its also a little more runny than regular wildflower honey in this area.
It definitely will make great mead but its better table honey or mixed with butter or Bourbon.
we have popcorn trees but not to any extent. but it taste like these variegated privet bushes in my back yard smell.

should I put two supers to replace the two I took?

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·