Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We just put together our first hive (bees arrive in May). It came with a super also. Should I put the super on the hive straight away, or should I wait until the main body's frames are almost full and then put it on. Also, if I put the super on straight away (or perhaps within a couple days or bees arrival) should I put a queen excluder between the main body and the super.
Thanks in advance

·
Registered
200 Posts
I am a newb, so the more experienced beeks will correct me if I am wrong, but I would wait until they have comb drawn out on 7-8 of the frames in the hive body before adding a super. That way, they won't be overwhelmed by the amount of area that they have to cover. You have a package of bees coming, so they will need to increase their numbers a bit before they get very productive. According to my reading, that could take anywhere from 4-8 weeks.

If you want to use that super exclusively for honey, you can use a queen excluder.

·
Registered
760 Posts
Welcome to beekeeping

Set your hive out where you are going to have the bees at, with just one deep.
once your bees come take out 3-4 frames and insert the queen cage then dump the package of bees in, wait about 5 minutes and slowly slide the other frames in ( only NINE will fit) put the lits on

after 3-4 DAYs open the hive use just a little or no smoke
locate the queen cage and see that she is released
if she is not take a nail and remove about half the candy plug
if she has been release carefully add the tenth frame

anyhow back to the super

after about 3-4 weeks the bees will have drawn out most of the one deep hive body- at this point add ONE MORE DEEP with ten frames

let them draw out those ten frames or so

this will take about 3-4 weeks (FEED LOTS OF SUGAR)

then about june(give or take depending on your area)
add super and keep adding them as they fill them

hope this helps

·
Registered