Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first post but I've been lurking for a while now. Great forum! Question is... Will having 4 or 5 very large wild feral hives in close proximity to my personal bee hives be a problem. My neighbor has two really old cypress houses in the woods next to my property line. Discovered yesterday that the houses which are uninhabitable and have been unoccupied for probably 30 years have multiple really big beehives in them in different corners and sections of the houses. He is currently out of state for summer and won’t return till September. I pretty much already know that he will not want to cut into them and remove them. He won’t want to tear into the houses. I also don’t really see how I could lure them out of there and into a trap as their space is pretty much unlimited and I see no reason that they would feel the need to swarm. Maybe I’m wrong?? Just curious as I’m a beginner and just getting ready to start out with a couple hives in the near future. Thanks in advance for any replies.

·
Registered
44 Posts
I am also a first year beekeeper so I can only comment on what a friend has told me. She said that if the area can support the bees with what they need, then it should be fine. Also, if you get into splitting and having your hives make their own queens, they could be mating with good feral stock.

On another note, because they are thriving feral hives, and if your neighbor allows, maybe someone from the state or a local university could study the colonies to see how they are dealing with varroa and disease. They just might have a resistance to varroa.

Good luck, Paul

·
Registered
907 Posts
99% of our bee colonies were started with feral hives. If I were you, I would do my best to see if you could capture some of those colonies and place them in your own yard!

·
Registered
48 Posts