Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
523 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All

Back in the spring when I fifst got the bees the consensus was to feed 2:1 sugar water. For fall/winter feed should I use 1:1 or 2:1? IOW I guess my question is what time frame/season/etc. determines when to feed one or the other? Our winters here are quite mild compared to most of the country but no flow to speak of this year; bout 8" shy of normal rainfall for the year & virtually none since early spring..

Thanx!

Lew in Waco, TX

·
Registered
702 Posts
I'm a newbie this year also with two packages, but I try...
Spring feeding is done by a sugar to water ratio 1:1.
Fall feeding, 2:1
Did the bees pack some stores, despite dry wetter?
Konrad

·
Registered
702 Posts
If you lift the hive on one side, [like Michael suggest]....it should feel fairly heavy.
If not, I would feed.
Konrad

·
Registered
473 Posts
I had to clean out lot's off dead bees too.The bees tend to chew the foam making it a little more "pebbley", making them hard to clean.I stopped most drowning by adding dried grass behind the plexi.
I loved watching them feed.
In the spring mine got burred down to the top frames terribly.
In the fall,concerned about robbing,and tired of burred down feeders,I used the feeders over my inner cover,I had a notch that I normally keep UP,between I.C.& T.C.,but flipped over(notch down) when using the feeder so that the bees had to travel up & over the I.C. to get in.I thought I had better vent this way.
I took them off before it got real cold,put a 1 1/2" shim on the I.C.(notch down) with 2 lb. of gran.sugar on the I.C.
I put a sreened medium super on top of that,filled that with dry planer shavings,and shimed the T.C. up 1/4" over that,and wrapped with 15# felt.
Any nice day I could peek in the notch and see the bees(some were carrying sugar or wax cappings).I got off on that.