Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
it was really warm here in bedford virginia thursday, 75 degrees bees flying and bring in pollen. gave all 7 hives a quart of syrup. they seem to be bring in a lot of natural pollen. i am not sure if i need to feed them a pollen pattty

·
Registered
247 Posts
I'm not a self proclaimed expert like some, but to me it would seem logical that pollen supplement be fed in times of pollen dearth...like a rainy period when they are in the middle of a brood buildup and can't bring in any...they will shut down brood rearing, so supplement will get them thru this hump. Some put patties on before bees are able to get out and forage early spring for an early brood buildup...but if they have fresh pollen, they tend to ignore supplement.....Randy Oliver gets out in his rain gear to put patties on when forecast is for rain for several days in a row during brood buildup. Good luck deciding!

·
Premium Member
6,176 Posts
They don't need it if natural food is available.

·
Registered
2,036 Posts
We keep patties on the hives thru the spring because it's not at all unusual to get a week of incessant rain. If a colony runs shy on protein with young brood in progress, they can cannibalize what brood they dont have enough protein to finish feeding. With patties in place, they wont run out of protein during a spell of bad weather.