Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
zone 3 240 colonies
265 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Total newbee here, made every mistake that is in the books, my latest is I fed good (15% pollen) pollen sub patties on March 8th. I am in zone 3, we have 3 feet of snow on the ground and have had no flying weather since. Yesterday I went to see the bees and they were coming out of the entrance and taking little bitty cleansing flights (there was poop in the snow). Trouble is the wind was blowing temp was at 30F and many (1/4 to 1/2 cup below each entrance) were not making it back into the hive. It will be a couple more days before temps hit 40F and then there is rain in the forecast. How much damage have I done? Any advice? I am intentionally going for early build up as I plan to do much splitting later.

·
Registered
3,054 Posts
Not a mistake that can't be corrected with few, if any consequences. You need to determine when they will start having a steady availability of natural pollen and good flying days to obtain it as well as increasing warm temps (especially overnight)so the brood will not get chilled. Then subtract 6 weeks for the earliest date to start feeding sub pollen. I suppose you don't know about when pollen is available being new, so ask fellow beekeepers in your area. If you are too early, just take the pollen sub out soon as you can. You might want to start a beekeeping journal. I just went over mine today to determine when I want to start feeding pollen. I put all of the things I notice blooming at the bottom of the page so I can find it in the future. It is reasonably consistent, but you need to look at the long term weather forecast too and that is always a roll of the dice. J

·
Registered
zone 3 240 colonies
265 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Fivej, this makes me feel better, I really felt I did them a wrong. I will get it out of the hives tomorrow.

·
Registered
zone 3 240 colonies
265 Posts