Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
283 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a painter I use heavy canvas fabric drop cloths. It occurred to me that making inner covers out of this heavy fabric would be economical and help with moisture control. I see plastic canvas in use as an inner cover but not fabric. Has anyone tried this?

·
Registered
34,542 Posts
I have a friend who has used canvas which he got from an Army Surplus Tent. He now uses tar paper, which I don't care for.

SHB love hanging out under cloth inner covers laying on the top bars. One will often find them there when removing the canvas.

Some folks use used plastic feed bags.

·
Registered
2,095 Posts
I used to help a commercial beekeeper that would salvage old rugs and cut them up to work as inner covers. you are right about the moisture and they work good plus the price is right.

·
Registered
283 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
To expand, I made up some 3 season hive covers which are inner covers with room for styrofoam under the outer cover. The fabric would go above the inner cover and below the styrofoam. The outer cover goes above that. Think the SHB would live above the wood inner cover and in the fabric?

A further note, I plan to use these as hive top feeders as well, so there will be brood, inner cover, "Mel's Fluffy Fondant", canvas, styrofoam, and outer cover in that order.
Thanks for your input.

Here's the link to Mel's Fluffy Fondant;
http://ribeekeeper.org/newsletters/fluffy_fondant.pdf

Here's the all season inner cover;
http://www.honeyrunapiaries.com/store/all-season-inner-cover-p-232.html

·
Registered
4,487 Posts
People often use the plastic animal feed bags on boxes divided into double nucs. I think something that breathes better than a canvas tarp, might work better.

·
Registered
4,953 Posts