Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
179 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Like most out there, I'm just a hobbyist with a few hives. Do I have any options for extracting honey other than dropping several hundred for the equipment from a supplier?

·
Registered
Possum Valley, TN Bee Wrangler
855 Posts
Some of the local bee clubs have extractors for loan to their members. Maybe check into that or ask to borrow one from another beek or do the crush and strain.

·
Registered
1,683 Posts
Well you have two choices
1. you can buy an extractor for several hundred or more dollars...used is good. Might be able to check some of the Ag newspapers on line, or check to see if your bee supply has a bulletin board with listings
2. you can do the crush and strain method. Which too will cost alot of money, you just do not see it. The money lost comes from lost honey production due to the bees having to build wax. And it happens over a period of a few years. See it takes (wikiepidia) 8.4 pounds of honey to make a pound of wax. So, you lose the wax production and loose in honey production.

As for an uncapping tank, buy a plastic white wash stand sink, make a stand from 2x4's and place two boards across to hold the frames. Cheap and simple

·
Registered
93 Posts
Check youtube for some interesting extraction alternatives.
We used the crush and strain approach this year. It worked fine. Got about 100 pounds of honey.
We decided to go with the foundationless approach after we cut it all out in the extraction process. Problem is, they still haven't built the comb back yet on the mediums we gave back.

·
Registered
29 Posts