Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm a first year beek. I am also a longtime woodworker, so I decided to make several boxes myself. After using a commercial box or two as a guide and studying all the diagrams/plans for making hive components, I've got several pieces ready to go.

Question is this: why is there almost enough space for an 11th frame in these boxes? An 11th won't fit, but there is almost that must open space in the super if I shove all frames together to one side. Normal?

On a related note, I've just about decided to go with 9-frame spacers in the honey supers, but I was thinking of sticking with 10 frames in the hive bodies. Any comments on this decision?

Thanks,
shifty

·
Registered
2,940 Posts
Yes that space is normal, it helps in getting the frames out. Nothing wrong with using 9 frames in a super BUT they MUST be drawn comb. If you put 9 frames of foundation in you will violate bee space big time and that means a big mess so I would forgo the spacers and just space by hand since you are going to have to get the comb drawn with 10 frames.

·
Registered
2,136 Posts
I another year you will realize why that space is there. I have to push to get frames back into all of my hives. I suppose I should keep cleaning them, but that would be a huge amount of work and I suspect that by the next time I was in the hive the frames would be right back to the way they were before cleaning.

By the way, to keep this from happening as fast and to keep cross comb to a minimum, push your 10 frames tight together and kind of center them in the box. In a year you won't have to keep doing this because you will have to push to force the last frame in.

·
Registered
1,261 Posts