Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Installed 3-lb pkg April 16; this is my first year of beekeeping. Yesterday did a little inspection. SO many bees now, and a few drones bumbling about (don't think there were any in my package, since these are the first I've seen).

I'm using 8-frame mediums (I'm not strong enough--or tall enough--to handle anything bigger). Box one is full, box two was almost full (7 out of 8 frames drawn), so I put on box three. I still have a fourth body on top of the inner cover for the mason jar of syrup. I'm thinking it's time to quit feeding.

Since most of the books I've read assume the reader is using standard 10-frame deeps, I need some advice about what to do now. Is box 3 a "honey super"? Queen excluder or none? I saw some eggs, larvae, and capped brood in box 2, but mostly open syrup (I'm guessing it's syrup).

I didn't lift any frames out of the bottom box (figured I'd leave well enough alone), then later I panicked, thinking I should've checked for swarm cells or something--at least lift the hive and look under it, right?

Ah, newbee angst.:eek:

·
Registered
706 Posts
your doing fine, you won't get swarm cells your first year. Knock on wood. but you might maybe a 1 percent chance. just don't worry bees have been doing thier thing for over 6 million years. its just been 158 years with the modern hive.

·
Registered
2,488 Posts
With mediums, three equals out to two deeps. So after they get that one filled out your fourth one would be what you can consider your honey super. Using an excluder is up to you...you will get both sides of using one. I don't but you may want too. If you do, pull up a couple of frames of honey into the 4th one to help them speed up the pulling out of the other frames.