Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie, got my first hive in May. Northern California in the Sacramento Valley, we get to maybe 29° for a couple mornings.

I did apivar strips for the 6 weeks sept-nov (I did not test for mites so don’t know what the count was). Hive was strong. Found my queen when we pulled the strips.
Shortly after, I started noticing dead bees on the entrance and ground outside hive. Upon researching I found this to be normal. At a later point I also found 4 heads on the entrance. I gave them some pollen patties and sugar syrup even though they had the whole top deep full of honey. Put in the entrance reducer and crossed my fingers waiting for spring. Today we hit 70° so we went to check them. Maybe 3 dozen or so dead, even dead trying to hatch, various stages or larvae, but not any live bees in the hive, although I have half a dozen flying around. Did they leave? I did not see the queen among the dead, nor any queen cells.

Now what do do with the hive? The apivar package says to remove honey supers during treatment so I assume all the honey is inedible.

Very sad day for my son and I 😞

·
Registered
29 Posts
Sorry to hear about the lost hive. What you describe sounds like death by varroa mite. The flying bees might be from a different hive that is robing what's left. I'm not familiar with the climate at your location, but sept-nov seems to be to late for varroa treatment.