Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty sure my hive has lost its queen. As of yesterday there is no brood or eggs or any sign of a queen.

I was able to get a couple of frames of eggs from a friend and we installed them into the hive. The frames contained only eggs, no brood.

My concern is that I may not have any nurse bees to do their part. How critical is this? I suspect most of the bees in the colony are at least a couple of weeks old.

Would I be better to bring in a 'new' queen from a supplier?

Thanks!

·
Registered
673 Posts
I am not an expert, but if it were my hive, I would wait a few days after installing the frames with eggs, and see if they start building queen cells. If I didn't see some sign within 4 or 5 days, I would find a queen somewhere. But that is just my thoughts on it. It has worked for me in the past.

·
Registered
8,186 Posts
You have nurse bees. Bees are versatile and can do any job called for. Give them another frame every week if you can until the new queen takes off in a month. Your friend doesn't have a swarm cell yet?

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I am not an expert, but if it were my hive, I would wait a few days after installing the frames with eggs, and see if they start building queen cells. If I didn't see some sign within 4 or 5 days, I would find a queen somewhere. But that is just my thoughts on it. It has worked for me in the past.
Thanks

It's actually been a few weeks with no sign of a queen.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
You have nurse bees. Bees are versatile and can do any job called for. Give them another frame every week if you can until the new queen takes off in a month. Your friend doesn't have a swarm cell yet?
Thanks Vance