Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Efficacy of inducing supercedure

I would like to induce supercedure in my package hives and replace the package queens with locally raised queens. My question is the following:

To induce supercedure is fairly easy, but I would like an extremely reliable and fast procedure that is consistent for multiple hives. To my knowledge clipping an antennae is the best method for what I am suggesting. Supercedure is immediately induced and cells started after 24ish hours. I have no experience with this at this scale for multiple hives, if this is incorrect, please let me know.

Thanks.

Andy

And yes I am aware I could wait, take two frames of brood let the local queen mate, return, pinch the original and then combine, but I am lazy. Tryin to knock two birds out with one stone.

·
Registered
2,931 Posts
Re: Efficacy of inducing supercedure

My experience is that in managing honey bees shortcuts will usually cause problems. If these are packages that you started last spring they will probably start swarm or supersedure cells on this year's spring nectar flow.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

My experience is that in managing honey bees shortcuts will usually cause problems. If these are packages that you started last spring they will probably start swarm or supersedure cells on this year's spring nectar flow.
Will be this spring 2019 packages.

·
Registered
6,558 Posts

Do you draw a hard line between quality of queens from induced emergency cells, and those from eggs deliberately laid in purpose built queen cups? I and many others have been quite satisfied with queen quality when cells are started using double screen division board. One such design is the Snelgrove Board which I use.

·
Registered
92 Posts

I am curious as to why you want to do this?