Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've just started watching a Beekeeping show (I think it's from the late '80s as a University of Georgia Extension program with Keith Delaplane) on RFD tv and I'm now interested in doing it myself.

I've been looking over the message board here for a week or so and at other sites.

Do you have to wait until the spring to actually install bees or is that just when the shippers actually gear up to sell them?

I've contacted the state division of plant industry to get the info on hive registration for my state.

I'm still looking over the different hive setups deciding on what type I want to make.

Thanks for the great site and message contributors.

·
Registered
66 Posts
hi b. hive
i am a newbie ( that means i can't help you much at least not yet) but i was curious about the rfd tv show. what time is it on? it sounds interesting. I read alot over the winter about bees and ordered a couple of videos before buying my 2 package bees this spring. Brushy mountain has a great in depth beekeeping video. I loved it!! I think they did a really nice job in getting out alot of info on the video and showed various ways to install package bees. some videos show only one technique.

·
Vendor
Local feral survivors in eight frame medium boxes.
54,120 Posts
>Do you have to wait until the spring to actually install bees or is that just when the shippers actually gear up to sell them?

There is an old saying with some truth to it. "A swarm in May is worth a load of hay. A swarm in June is worth a silver spoon. A swarm in July isn't worth a fly."

While I would take a swarm in July, the saying illustrates the decreasing value of a swarm through the yeat. By August it's getting pretty late to get a hive established.

That's why the package industry does not ship in August. That and the heat will probably kill the bees.
The heat is why they won't ship them in July.