Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do you ever inspect the entire hive? My first year I left everything for them in order to give them the best outcome possible. I am new to this and am a second year bee keeper. I bought my second set of bee's this year. They are doing fabulous and I have my third super on hive #1. Hive #2 I just put the 1st super on but they have plenty of capped honey in the 2nd brood box. I plan on getting more hives as well but am going to be purchasing a motorized honey extractor and have narrowed it down to 2 which is the Maxant Nine Frame Extractor POWER-9F or Bushy Mountain 9 Frame Power Radial Extractor w/German motor? How good are the electric de capping planers work? We are leaning toward the Maxant. Any info is greatly appreciated. Wendi

·
Registered
127 Posts
I have the "Bushy Mountain 9 Frame Power Radial Extractor w/German motor" and it is quite nice; I can't say anything about the Maxant as I haven't used nor seen one in action. I've seen the de-capping planers; very cool but quite expensive unless you have a lot of hives. Last year I used a heat-gun, fast, easy and no-mess; but you don't get cappings (if you want them for something).

·
Registered
127 Posts
It is round like a drum; the bottom is raised in the center (the frame chamber sits slightly up from the bottom). I don't have any images of the inside handy but I could get you some if needs be. It is well made IMO.

·
Registered
641 Posts
I am in my second year also. I had planned on just increasing the number of hives this year, but after making splits I had a hive put on so much honey that I needed to extract in order to have empty, drawn comb. So, I bought an extractor a few months earlier than I had planned.