Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently got an itch for a long hive and after quite a bit of research, I dove in head first. But first, let me provide a little background. I've been keeping bees since 2012 just as a hobby. I'm not trying to sell honey nor bees, just simply for enjoyment and personal knowledge. I have several Langstroth hives located in two different yards. One yard is in my backyard and the other is a few miles away at my Dad's farm. I've had successes and failures over the years. Most of my failures were early on and most were of my own making. The worst one was in the summer of 2014. I had a hive here at the house that exploded with bees and honey. It had 3 deep brood boxes and 7 or 8 medium supers. My son was playing on a travel lacrosse team that summer and between working, taking him to Atlanta everyday for practice and then traveling all over the SE on the weekends to tournaments, I just kept adding supers because I didn't have time to do anything else. Well, most of you can imagine what happened, yep, SHB. They destroyed the entire hive. I was sick and it almost made me quit the hobby. But, I vowed to carry on and learn from my mistake. Since then, I've kept the hives under control, pulled supers when needed and more or less let the bees do their thing. So far no treatments, not because I am against it, but it hasn't been needed, yet ( I just jinked myself, probably).