Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 hive
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I'm a newbie in Alberta, Canada and I have 1 hive and am looking for some advice! Here's a timeline and some details...
June 4: Installed a nuc into a Langstroth w/ a Ceracell hive top feeder w/ liquid syrup, and entrance reducer w/ large entrance hole. Noticed that unmarked queen had a dented thorax.
Pollinator Natural material Arthropod Insect Organism

June 17: first full hive check- spotted queen, brood and honey stores looking good w/ eggs visible, both outermost frames were completely empty of drawn comb, but found around 40 charged queen cells that weren't yet closed up along the bottom edge of a brood frame. Weather had been very heavily rainy and wet for a solid week, so I assumed that w/ liquid syrup and reduced entrance that conditions in hive may have been too humid and they were preparing to swarm. I took entrance reducer off, added a second deep box on top, removed the liquid feed, and destroyed all queen cells. Hoped that this would halt swarming activity.
June 27: went back in- eggs visible throughout brood, good honey and pollen stores and comb being drawn well. 2 of the inner frames had 12 charged queen cells along the bottom edge of frames. None of them were yet closed but they're clearly still working towards swarming.
Wood Plant Terrestrial plant Trunk Automotive tire

June 28: went in intending to destroy the queen cells, but saw queen and remembered the dented thorax and started wondering if it was a matter of replacing a damaged queen instead. Decided to wait on destroying queen cells, and instead just checker-boarded empty frames between all the brood frames for the time being, until I decided what to do.

My options as I see it are to
  • continue to destroy queen cells if they keep building and charging them, hoping they'll eventually give up. If they don't and they just prove to be prone to swarm then may have to re-queen