Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My strongest colony just died after 48hrs of snow in north Idaho. 2 deep 10 frame supers. The entrance was covered in snow. I had an entrance reducer on made of wood. There is no top entrance. The supers are chock full of honey so they didn’t starve. Did I let my bees suffocate under the snow? Should I have had an upper entrance? Newbie here and my heart is broken.

·
Registered
5,540 Posts
What makes you think they are dead? Did you open the box to examine the cluster, or are they just quiet and not flying? (Opening the box to check, probably wasn't a good idea, but not likely lethal all by itself, if you did that.)

It's often said that a colony isn't dead, unless it's warm and dead. So perhaps all is not lost..

It's possible, but unlikely, the snow covered entrance killed them. There is still likely some air flow through the hive via the notch in the rim of the inner cover (though it can be blocked by the telescoping cover's overhang).

If your colony is truly gone, unfortunately the most likely precipitating cause were uncontrolled varroa mites and viruses they vector into the colony. What were your mite counts and the treatment history over the last five months, or so.

Nothing eases the chagrin and dismay of losing a hive, but learning why you lost it will help avoid the same outcome next year.

Nancy (Enjambres)

If you can provide more details that may help figure out what went wrong.

·
Registered
795 Posts
I've had yards of bees buried completely in snow with no issues. If anything the snow insulates them better. If condensation is you issue you should check soon to see if the inside of the hive is soaking wet. Sounds like starvation wasn't the problem. So the next big issue is varroa mites. Did u treat for them?

·
Super Moderator
10,457 Posts
You might be able to detect faint cluster roar with the proper use of a decent stethoscope.