Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
532 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone run the DE Hives produced and sold by The Bee Works of Orillia, Ontario??

They advocate running a three deep DE hive to build colonies while also preventing swarming, and thus maximizing honey yields. While running a couple side by side with conventional Langstroths would be interesting for me next season, I was curious to see if anyone has done exactly that, and what their experience has been.

Just for the record I am a hobbyist running around 20 hives.

·
Registered
6,558 Posts
I have been thru a few of the DE hives and they are nice to work since the ears of the frames are longer and the frame spacer collar fits so that bees do not get at the frame ears to propolize them. The also trap and starve what bees get shut in that area if the hive is really busy when closing up. It would be a beetle haven if you had that problem.

It is not a standard size frame or box so look for increased costs. I would say it wont do anything you cannot do with standard Lang equipment. The construction of the hive bodies is a a fair bit more complicated.

You may get some more recent opinions on this thread but if you do a search there was discussion about them here a year or so ago.

http://www.beesource.com/forums/search.php?searchid=4908501

·
Vendor
Local feral survivors in eight frame medium boxes.
54,120 Posts
Here's what I like about the DE hive:

o It has good, well thought out, ventilation (but you can use the Langstroth kit to provide this for your Langstroth hive or other methods to keep things simpler)

o It has the frames running so you can stand behind it to work it. (but you can get this in a Langstroth by using the kit or by making your own top and bottom and turning the hive)