Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We went on a bee call and we ended up with a lot of comb in a crawl space of a house. There were no bees at all. The comb was some old brood comb 3, 5 gallon pails full, and 2 pails full of comb with honey. My questions are is this honey safe to use. we do not know how the bees died or left. The home owner said they sprayed the bees under the siding but not into the crawl space. The honey was all capped so does that keep it protected if they did spray.. I am new to this and dont want to use this honey if it is poisoned. Please help...

·
Registered
531 Posts
i did a similar cutout in april. it was a deadout. i removed 10 gallons of capped honey and about 15 gallons of empty brood and honey comb. we're using the wax but not the honey.

·
Registered
273 Posts
Agreed, do not use the honey or leave it out where other bees can get at it. Future advice - MANY people will hide the fact that they have sprayed the bees. I know you want to save them, but, really, it almost always is hopeless if they have been sprayed, even "just a little bit". When I am talking to people on the phone the first time, I always ask "When were they sprayed last?", very casually, like it is the most reasonable thing in the world to do. Then, when they admit they had, I break it to them that I will not be coming out, and to next time, not spray them.

JC

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Than you so much for all the help. I will melt down the wax and not use the honey. Isnt it a shame people have no idea what they are doing. I will be asking a lot more questions before I go out again. this was our second dry run that are both about 35 miles away. We think we are going to tell them from now on that there will be a minimum charge of $50.00 for us to come out. Does that sound fair or should we not charge??

·
Registered
531 Posts