Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thanks for taking the time to look over my questions. (I should add-Thank God for this resource)

I'm brand new to beekeeping and I'm still waiting for my first Nuc to arrive. I have taken a couple of online classes, as well as a regular beginner class, but I've only been in a live hive once before which was last week. My neighbor had an abandon hive box, which attracted a swarm recently.

A neighbor posted something online asking for help with removing a wild bee hive that's under her outside stairs. Although this is well beyond my experience level, I thought I might try and move them into a hive box myself and take them home.

Below is my plan and I was hoping somebody with some more experience can tell me what I might need to do differently. I should add that the home owner suspects this is new, so I'm hoping for a small hive, but if it's obviously too much, then I won't mess with it and risk things.

I did upload an image that the owner sent me.

My plan:

I was going to try and begin this in the morning around 10AM or so.

I was going to bring an empty 10-frame Langstroth with some foundation-less frames. I'm hoping to be able to move the bees from the comb via my bee brush, then try and gently cut the comb away and secure the sections in the frames with rubber bands, trying to keep them in the same order and position as they originally were. I thought I would use smoke, but as little as needed. After I was finished, I thought I'd leave the hive box there until just before sunset, then take it home. I was going to secure the lid using a bungee cord and tack up some screen across the front entrance and transport it in a truck.

My questions / concerns: