Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I suppose this is a ridiculous question, but I don't know why.

It seems to me that there's something of a conflict between the insistence that the frames in a hive be sleek, clean, and easily removed, and the maxim I often see that says "Let bees be bees."

This is my first year with a hive, and I went foundationless ... almost certainly a mistake, in some respects, for me as a beginner, but primarily if I concern myself with the first half of the issue raised above. So far as the second half (that is, letting those gals do what they want) then, to my observation, the box in my yard is quite a happy and healthy hive. I see no evidence of disease or mites. I have a robust and active population, and they're extremely patient with me ... only one sting so far this year.

My only concern is that the comb in some of the medium supers is fat ... as in really fat, like three-and-a-half inches wide, and there's lots of it (with cool little passageways, too). In some cases — okay many cases — the comb runs from one frame to another. It was vexing at first, but I got to the point that I decided I'd just let them do it if they want, and work on achieving a cleaner working environment (for me, that is) next year, with a foundation/foundationless blend.

For what it's worth, the brood box, a deep at the bottom, is all straight, beautiful comb. (Despite ample opportunity to stretch her legs, my queen has stayed in the deep all year for her egg-laying, and I have a very healthy population.)