Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
5,870 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have just started to experiment with sourdough bread. I have been baking all our bread for several years but since this lockdown business there has been no yeast available at the stores. Yes you can get it through Amazon but the price is right on five times what it was previously. I still have plenty, but to stretch my supply we have started a sourdough. I know it is kind of cheating but I like the convenience of using a breadmaker to avoid the work of kneading. It will take a bit of experimenting to get a predicatable loaf, but so far it has all been edible.

This loaf is a third whole wheat. Looks like the crust is a bit, well.... crusty. I probably could have used a bit less honey and let the sourdough warm a bit more before I started the kneading.

Going for groceries is my biggest exposure so I am trying to shop only every third week. Other than that the lockdown has not changed things a whole lot as we never spent much time in town anyway. I sure dont envy people who are cooped up in an apartment.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,759 Posts
Frank
fresh bread is a nice treat especially with comb honey.
Having it all the time could be a problem for my waistline.

Looks good bake on.

GG

·
Registered
5,044 Posts

·
Registered
5,870 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Greg;
Those are nice looking loaves and nice texture. Real traditional sourdough! Looks like a fair bit of coarse ground flour. That is probably better than trying to make a kneaded loaf. I have made some real sinkers so I could take some lessons. Do you keep a sourdough starter on the go continuously?

This present one was started with a mix of whole wheat and unbleached all purpose flower. Just nicely tangy; I have smelled some that were pretty mean.:rolleyes: