Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As you can probably tell from my title, I am new to beekeeping.

I bought a hive last year and went into the winter with two hive bodies and two supers on my hive. I did NOT remove any honey as it was the first year and I was unsure of how much to take or leave.

So, my hive made it through a long hard winter here in the Northeast (New Hampshire) and in checking the hive yesterday, I noticed virtually all the honey stores gone and a lot of bees in all 4 boxes. They are flying in an out and seem to be thriving, but here are my questions:

1. Should I feed? We still have snow on the ground and I don't see anything green yet!
2. With the bees in all 4 boxes, should I leave the hive alone and just add supers as the summer progresses? Seem like my hive will get huge and unworkable.
3. Anything else I am missing?

Thank you for any help.

·
Registered
151 Posts
if there's no flow on and they have lots of bees and no stores you'd better feed. Is there a flow? Is there nectar coming in? Is there any nectar in any of the frames? Bees usually prefer nectar to sugar water, so if you offer it and they take it, they needed it. Given that spring hasn't arrived yet there I'd feed.

don't add more boxes than they can occupy. If it gets too big (we should all have such problems), then split it.

·
Vendor
Local feral survivors in eight frame medium boxes.
54,171 Posts
>1. Should I feed? We still have snow on the ground and I don't see anything green yet!

If they have no honey and nothing is blooming, they will starve if you don't.

> 2. With the bees in all 4 boxes, should I leave the hive alone and just add supers as the summer progresses? Seem like my hive will get huge and unworkable.