Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here is a pic of my newly installed TBH. Bees have been in for less than 48 hours, already drawing comb (see right of pic). On the left of pic, you can see the condensation. By later in the day, there is no condensation at all. Since I am a newbie, I would like to be assured (or not) about whether this amount of early morning condensation is acceptable. In the middle picture, the false back is shown to the left of the window. I am at 4,500', dry, desert-like climate, night temps now in the low 40ies, days highs in the high 60ies or low 70ies. Soon to change for the warmer, though. Thank you for your advice and mentorship.

PS ... might you be able to tell me what kind of bees these are? It was a swarm caught a few days ago, and I am too new at bees to be able to recognize them ..

sylvia

bees 1.r.jpg

bees 2.r.jpg

bees 3.r.jpg

·
Registered
266 Posts
Mine do as well. I seem to remember reading that a bit of condensation CAN be a good thing. It gives the girls a source of fresh water without them having to leave the hive (maybe the experienced beekeepers here can confirm this?).

That said, i'm worried about the wet winters of the Pacific Northwest. We shall see ...

·
Registered
1,276 Posts
Estreya, For more beekeeping info in the Pacific NW there is a great forum you can check out. The link there is: http://wabeekeepersforum.proboards.com/. The forum does not have the traffic that you see here but it is local for your area and should be very helpful. Yes it is very wet here in the winters but it does not have to be too big of a problem. Most of the moisture problems can be solved with a top entrance in the winter.

And in keeping with this thread, I too get some moisture in the morning. All those bees do give off moisture like all living things.

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·