Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been at this a while, I'm no expert but I'd say I'm getting it ok. (friend gave me his hives in august, ten frames and two stories each. and the bees did awsome this fall bringing in lots of honey on there legs) . lately here with the weather they are really cold and are dying. Theres plenty of dead ones around the hives . This is Delaware and it's in the 30s today, I was doing my weekly inspection and they just weren't moving all that much, just a big clump of bees, I mean some were flying around and pissed like normal but alot just fell off the clumps and weren't moving.

Is there a way to heat them up? I have a small engine block heat wrap and was thinking I could put that in bottom of hive during next week inspection, use it on real cold days?

·
Registered
4,020 Posts
I've been at this a while, I'm no expert but I'd say I'm getting it ok. (friend gave me his hives in august, ten frames and two stories each. and the bees did awsome this fall bringing in lots of honey on there legs) . lately here with the weather they are really cold and are dying. Theres plenty of dead ones around the hives . This is Delaware and it's in the 30s today, I was doing my weekly inspection and they just weren't moving all that much, just a big clump of bees, I mean some were flying around and pissed like normal but alot just fell off the clumps and weren't moving.

Is there a way to heat them up? I have a small engine block heat wrap and was thinking I could put that in bottom of hive during next week inspection, use it on real cold days?
Very humorous! :eek:

·
Registered
328 Posts