Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started a thread a few days ago about one of my hives that I could not find the queen, no brood, and all the frames were pretty much filled with nectar/syrup. Due to work and weather I had not been able to do anything with them. Today I went out to make one more thorough check before combining them. Today I still did not find a queen, but granted this is my first year and I am not that good at spotting them, but I did find larvae, and eggs, but none capped so I don't know if it is from a laying worker or not. But I also found several queen cells being built and at least 3 of them had larvae in them.......So, my question is, will the bees build queen cells around a drone egg layed by a laying worker? Or will they only build them around a fertilized egg?

Thanks again
Blueline

·
Premium Member
3,533 Posts
It sounds like to me you have a queen but if the hive is full of honey give them more room for the queen to lay eggs

·
Registered
507 Posts
Check to see if the fresh eggs are laid on the side of the cell or the bottom of the cell, dead center. If the eggs are in the bottom, center of the cell, it is a queen.

They seem to want to supercede your current queen, I say let them. They sense something and know something we don't.

·
Registered
91 Posts
My guess would be that you have a queen. When we had a laying working in a hive there were multiple eggs in one cell.
I would also give them some more room if there aren't available cells for the queen to lay eggs in.
Jennifer

·
Registered
6,653 Posts
It sounds to me like a possible plugged out hive and they are getting ready to swarm. Every cell full of honey and now you see some eggs/larva in cells that have had brood emerge, not much room to lay, queen cells starting, could be swarm time, even this late in the year.

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #7