Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
2,003 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here in Denver we just had the stock show. For many reasons I visit the stock show each year but this year I hoped to find someone that does bees.

Turns out that the Boulder County Bee Association has been there for years!

Anyway, I got to talking to the woman that was manning the booth. I told her that I was a beginner and that I was having a hard time finding shippers of packages. I was wondering if there was someone local to which she put me on to a person that drives to CA and loads up for Assoc. members.

Anyway, she told me that swarms are a great way to start. All of the books I read put this at the bottom of the choices for beginners. She told me to contact my city and tell them that I will catch swarms and that I would probably end up really busy. She told me that last spring she caught 9 in the Longmont (smallish town) area and that she just gives them away to whomever wants then. (I put me in line!) I asked if she would take me along to which she replied "sure!"

So, swarms for beginners? Good, idea or bad?

If she is giving it to me it seems that it IS a package, just might be a big package.

·
Registered
3,597 Posts
{She told me to contact my city and tell them that I will catch swarms and that I would probably end up really busy}

Notify your 911 center, they will take most of the calls. Have plenty of equipment ready. With the mild winter swarms will be thick as pearls on a-well you get the idea! They are pretty easy and fun to catch as long as they are not more than 6 or 7 feet of the ground. You can even combine them by the newspaper method if you run out of equipment and make super 2 queen units producing copious amounts of Columbine Honey.

·
Banned
5,034 Posts
I have gotten one call from 911 and about 30 from the local exterminators. Mostly, the exterminator calls are for extractions, but a number of them have been for swarms.