Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys !

This is my first time posting here but I've been reading a lot for this past year. I'm a novice top bar beekeeper from the South of France, and I'm having a little a trouble I hoped maybe you could help me out with : I'm not sure whether my colony is about to swarm or supersede (I know there are a few threads concerning this matter already but none of them seem to fit to what's going on in my hive...).

So here's the situation: last year I installed a tiny secondary swarm from a nearby beekeeper (so a virgin queen if I'm not mistaken) into my brand new Colorado top bar. they spent the rest of spring and summer foraging and expanding nicely, without any particular trouble.
Now this seasons, they have been expanding quite a lot : there were only four bars of brood at the end of the winter, and right now I'm at 10 bars of brood, 4 bars of food, and 3 empty bars (which is the size of the hive, there's no more follower!).

Problem is, when I went for a visit 2 days ago, I noticed a few queen cups, both on the sides and in the middle of the frames (although more on the sides). I figured they were trying to swarm, so I destroyed the cups as I clearly didn't want half of my precious bees to fly away... :no: But as I went back today, I saw about 60 brand new queen cups, once again both on the sides and the middle of the frames, some of them already with tiny eggs being fed royal jelly! :eek:
So before destroying the cups once again, I reconsidered: maybe they're not trying to swarm, but just to replace their queen? (since the "ball of bees" only takes up around 2/3 to 3/4 of the hive, there seems to be a fair amount of empty space left!). Nevertheless, the current queen should only be 1 year old, and seems to be laying quite nicely: there is a fair amount of brood and it looks as regular as it could be.
So, what would your bet be? Swarming or superseding?