Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just starting to learn about beekeeping and was wondering if it was possible to keep bees in a smaller container than the standard size boxes with 8 or 10 frames. For someone who may not have as much room to have a larger hive, is it possible to keep them in a nuc, one box or two, all year round?

If you, can what are some of the challenges and advantages?

Thanks!

·
Registered
146 Posts
Yes, you can but there are some limitations. Some very successful professional beekeepers use a method where they keep supplemental colonies in the manner you consider - stacked 4/5 frame nucs. Google "Michael Palmer" videos or visit Micahel Bush's website to learn more about the topic (he's also a regular commenter here).

Most people use nucs as a form of insurance and to increase hive counts over time (me, for instance). I don't know of any who do it as the primary colony method, but I'm sure there are some.

Issues vary by region, but in general margins are smaller. That means you need to pay more attention because a colony that is building fast will max out your smaller space in much less time, for instance. Let it go too long and you'll find your bees looking for new housing. Winters are easier the more bees you have in a colony. Likewise, a smaller colony in distress has less margin to recover. Of course, if you are looking to produce honey your surplus will be limited, as well. But if you just want to keep bees as part of a hobby, then nucs could work. One upside is that tightly packed spaces are easier for the bees to handle things like Small Hive Beetle and Wax Moths.

The size differential between an 8-frame and a 5-frame is measured in bare inches. I never want to discourage someone, but if your space is that limited you might want to wait a little bit before digging in?

Good luck.

·
Registered
1,893 Posts