Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering if I could weed kill a bunch of weeds along my creek. I do not have the weed kill on me atm. But I know that it is a concentrate, and it needs to be diluted. After it is mixed in water, it will be sprayed on the 3-foot tall weeds. The weeds will stay looking alive for about 3 days, then they will start wilting.
Because I'm spraying around 100 yards away from the hive, I don't think I'll have any problem with the weed kill floating around in the air, unless that is a big deal. (I have no experience with beekeeping whatsoever, and I'm expecting my nuc end of may.)
If anyone could give me some info that they know, it'll be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
265 Posts
Why would you weed kill next to a Creek?

Try Corn meal gluten. not deadly to people animals or bugs and no problem about getting in the water.

Were do you think the run off from the weed kill will end up???:no:

Brooklyn

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I can't reach the weeds with my 72" deck mower. So I need to weed kill it. If I don't, it gets out of control. I'm just wondering if the bees will get hurt from pollinating the weeds that have weed kill on them. I'm not too worried about the vapor in the air, i'll just choose a day the either has the wind blowing in the opposite direction, or when there is no wind at all.

·
Registered
265 Posts
The weeds will dry in a day. so if you spray before you get the bees they should be ok. The chemical will stay in the soil for years.:eek:

there is less destructive chemicals out there. Look around the internet

I just don't like harmful chemicals.

Brooklyn

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·