Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here, first post. Got two nucs just over a month ago. Both colonies doing great. They have filled out 2 deep brood boxes each and are now filling up a super each with honey. I have been 'inspecting' weekly to see what is going on. Went in today to see if I needed to put on another super and, because I want to make a nuc to overwinter, I wanted to see where I could find brood frames. While going through the super (no brood) and upper brood box (lots of sealed brood) from one hive, I noticed a large bee flying around me and the hive. I was wearing reading glasses to see into the cells so I didn't get a good look at the big bee but it circled around for several minutes. I have never found my queen during inspections, even when inspecting with the state bee inspector we didn't find a queen, so I don't really know what my queens look like. The big bee wasn't a bumble of any sort.

So, can a laying queen just fly off? Since I didn't see the big bee go back into the hive, if it was the queen what is the probability the hive is now queenless or, on the other hand, the probability that she found her way home?

Thanks

Bob

·
Registered
892 Posts
when i inspect my hives, i virtually never look for my queen. If i have eggs or small C lava (eggs that are 4+ days old) Thats good enough for me. Now if i have no eggs, no lava and just capped cells... then i go looking for a queen cell, and or will go ahead and just move another frame of eggs/larva from another hive "just to make sure"

as to the OP... it was my understanding that a queen has to stop laying for several days and "slim down" in order to be small enough to fly. After that has happened then yes she will fly. (unless you clipped her wings)

·
Registered
8,399 Posts