Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm new to beekeeping and just put my first hive together in WV (introduced myself over in the Welcome Forum).

When I opened my hive for the first look on Monday my new nuc of Buckfast bees they had gone through at least 12 quarts of 1:1 syrup. I had 13 quarts in the top feeder. One side was completely dry and the other had just enough that the float wasn't on the bottom.

My frames were 1 and 10, undeveloped wax foundation. 2,3 and 9 were nearly full of uncapped liquid. Frame 3 in particular was heavy with bees and liquid. The remaining 5 frames were more developed with brood, pollen and honey then they had been when pulled from the nuc.

Is 12 or more quarts of syrup a "normal" amount for a hive to go through when it is cold (most days were in the 50s and down to 30-40s at night) and they can't get out much? It's also been very rainy here.

I put 10 more quarts of syrup on the hive during that inspection. Should I have waited?

I realize there are a number of variables to get "normal" when asking questions, but 13 quarts of syrup seemed like a lot in a week. Just looking for insight from those of you with experience.

Thanks

·
Registered
5 ,8 ,10 frame, and long Lang
2,522 Posts
Hello,

I'm new to beekeeping and just put my first hive together in WV (introduced myself over in the Welcome Forum).

When I opened my hive for the first look on Monday my new nuc of Buckfast bees they had gone through at least 12 quarts of 1:1 syrup. I had 13 quarts in the top feeder. One side was completely dry and the other had just enough that the float wasn't on the bottom.

My frames were 1 and 10, undeveloped wax foundation. 2,3 and 9 were nearly full of uncapped liquid. Frame 3 in particular was heavy with bees and liquid. The remaining 5 frames were more developed with brood, pollen and honey then they had been when pulled from the nuc.