Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
359 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

I'm a 4-hive hobbyist making the leap to a "serious sideline" venture. This one may be over my head, but maybe worth a shot. A friend has has a U-Pick blueberry operation and is interested in honeybee pollination. Would I be crazy buying some nucs to put some hives together for this spring in time for pollination? Live in north-central NY. He has about 1200 blueberry bushes. Not sure of total acreage. I have plenty of equipment, it's just a matter of bees. I'm not sure when he needs the bees. So;

1) If I can find out the expected bloom dates of these blueberries, when do I need to have the hives there and how long should I leave them there?

2) I can get nucs mid to late May. How much time do you think it would take a 5 frame nuc to be usable as a pollination hive?

3) Any rough guidelines on the number of hives needed per acre or number of bushes?

Thanks in advance,
Steve

·
Registered
7,822 Posts
A friend has has a U-Pick blueberry operation and is interested in honeybee pollination.
Just a note of caution. Intermingling friendship and business can be hazardous. The potential is to lose both.
Best of luck.

·
Registered
175 Posts
I think it is two hives per acre, Blueberries do not have much to offer bees so you dont want to get them there too early, you are going to be short of time for this year, use yours and bring in some other small beekeeper to fill in. Getting that bloom date will help determine that.
Bob

·
Registered
2,098 Posts
Blue berries are one of the first plants to bloom, we have some blooming now. I am not sure when they bloom in NY but, u may be too late for this year. If you decide to do this you may have to start planning now for next year.

·
Registered
359 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
Thanks folks,