Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm new at this, starting my first hive. I ordered my supplies from Brushy Mountain, which offers 'Superframes' with beeswax over either white or black foundation. I ordered the black stuff, basically since it was first on the page and appeared to be featured. But then later I noticed a note to the effect that they recommend white for honey production.

So what's the difference?

Since my hive is new, I expect that all of the stuff I bought will be used for brood chambers, and I'll be ordering more supers once they fill up what I've got. So do you need to have white? I'm confused by the cryptic note, and of course I'm paranoid about messing this up.

·
Premium Member
3,533 Posts
I use black for brood because it makes eggs eaiser to see and white for honey supers but I dont think it makes any differance just as long as the bees draw the comb.

·
Registered
142 Posts
I've never seen black foundation is it black because the wax it's made from is old or is it black because it's dyed or something?
kiwi

·
Registered
5,373 Posts
Around here the primary difference is about 10 seconds. In Summer, if you set a comb in the sun, the comb will melt off the plastic base in 30 or 40 seconds (30 seconds for the black ones and 40 seconds for the white ones).

·
Registered
219 Posts

·
Registered
706 Posts
Black or white Rite cell foundation is fine the bees don't care. I just use the black for Brood easier to see eggs as my arms have shrunk with age.

·
Vendor
341 Posts
Brushy's "Superframes" are actually Pierco products, which more than a few suppliers carry, including us.

In our experience, the bees seem to draw out the black a little faster. Can't say why--less light refraction in the hive? For that reason, and primarily because it's easier to see eggs and larvae on recently drawn foundation, we use black for brood.