Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We found some black bottomed bees, getting kicked out of our hive yesterday?
I have not found any pictures of this type of bee, in my search.

Any thoughts?

·
Registered
45 Posts
I have these too! I was told they are wild bees moving into my hives. Some hives have just a few and some have alot. I can tell they are more aggresive but the hives that have alot do well with honey storage so they must be good workers. I'm new at this so I'm curious what others have to say.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It seems like they "wild bees" were rejected by my hive. They were kicking them out of the hive, and stinging them to death.

Interested also to see what happens.

·
Registered
118 Posts
Could they be russian hybrids? There are more and more beekeepers with these bees. I also have them. They are a bit smaller than Italians and they are darker on the end of their abdomen without the pronounced banding.

·
Registered
290 Posts
I just picked up a swarm that look like this. Orange & black banding on 2/3 of the abdomen, but their little butts are solid black as are their heads & thorax. Also many are smaller than my packaged Italians.

Just settled them into a hive this morning, so no chance to gauge temperment yet. That's a job for this afternoon hopefully.

·
Registered
1,526 Posts
Isn't there a bee disease where a symptom is the abdomen being a reddish/chestnut brown and the end 1/3 of the abdomen is solid black? Or is my memory not working right?

·
Registered
290 Posts
These little bees look pretty healthy to me. Have the usual Italian stripes except for the bottom third of the abdomen. Haven't looked for the queen yet, but all the workers look like this. Very, very different from my blonde Cordies.

·
Registered
290 Posts