Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would like to build a top bar hive this year. I presently use all langstroth hives, but would like to try out the TBH's.

Since I'm not at all familiar with this type of hive, I was hoping that some of you with good knowledge of these could recommend a hive plan to me. I am a woodworker and could build a fancy one, but would prefer to build one that is "good enough." After I've tried this type of hive (TBH), I may decide to go with a fancier one, but for now, I just want one to get started.

So, if you have a plan to recommend, could you provide me with a link? I will greatly appreciate your help. I have looked at some here already, but I'm hoping that there is a general consensus on a hive plan that would be universally liked by most TBH enthusiasts.

Thanks in advance for you help!

·
Registered
3,396 Posts
The only design features I would suggest is make it at least in the 4 ft range. I made one that can accept medium frames, which makes it easier to add brood and feed sugar board (in frames).

·
Registered
652 Posts
i thought Chandlers design was good. we did solid bottom instead of screened. and added a window. also cut the ends flush with the sides.. i probably would keep them square next time.

·
Registered
133 Posts
I agree with Reo on the length just under 4 ft so you can use a 4 foot sheet for the top. For the width, I see lots of posts that recommend 19" to match lang. Top bars, I'm not sure the logic since lang top bars are too narrow when not using them with the side bars to get the bee space correct.