Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm in my fourth year of beekeeping and things are going just great, finally. Wanted to share what I think may be the BEST advice I got starting out: using one box size for everything. Since I started in middle-age and want to keep bees for as long as I possibly can - I went with 8-frame mediums to minimize the weight of supers. That's not the important part although I am amazed at how much a super of honey weighs in real life vs reading those weights on a page! HA!

Being able to exchange ANY box and ANY frame in the whole apiary has been a total, utter, blessing and I thank my lucky stars I had a mentor to tell me to choose one box size and use it for EVERYTHING. (And the mentor learned it from Michael Bush who I thank for loads of wonderful info.)

The times the one-size system has come in most handy are when I needed to move a frame of eggs or a swarm cell to a queenless hive regardless of where in the hive I find either. I can easily renew brood comb by using a super frame that had honey in it last year. The question is simply 'do I have a box' rather than 'do I have the right sized box' when I need to split a hive or hive a swarm or pull a nuc. (Same with frames - only one size needed.)

Just wanted to put this out there to anyone new who hasn't bought too much equipment to change course easily.

·
Registered
24 Posts
This is my first year of beekeeping and have 2 ten frame and 1 eight frame hive. I bought two nucs for the 10 framed and a package for the eight frame hive with all mediums, I'm like you, I like that idea better, you never have to worry that parts won't fit. I think I'll only own 2 ten frame hives from here on out and many 8 frame with all mediums.

·
Registered
5,183 Posts