Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have some mildewed and molded equipment. Can it be salvaged?

When I first started bee keeping, I left a top feeder box out for the bees to clean up, but then it rained, and as all things in South Carolina do, it began to grow black mildew. I dried it off, but I'm not very good at telling apart mildew from black mold. I kept it out of the rain since, and right now it's holding about a gallon of vinegar in it. I've read on some sources that vinegar will kill mold roots in wood, but these are my bees. I don't want to accidentally kill my bees because their feeder box was contaminated.

If it is do-able and reasonable, I'd rather rescue the moldy boxes. If it's NOT and is just a liability, I need to know before my bees need to be fed again.

Thank you,
Tkacik

·
Registered
186 Posts
I've had feeders and equipment get moldy. I soak it in bleach, then rinse, dry, and put back into use. It's never been a problem for the bees.

·
Registered
11,731 Posts
As per above, bleach will do it.

However I've used mouldy stuff in hives over the years, haven't seen any effect on the bees, doesn't appear to bother them.

·
Registered
6,049 Posts
I have some mildewed and molded equipment. Can it be salvaged?........
As for the bees - this is a least concern.
They don't care and not bothered.
Normally they would live an a moldy tree hole and do great in it.

Heck, I give moldy combs to the bees all the time and sleep well.
They will cleanup mold as they see fit - no fuss.

The so-called salvage is mostly for yourself to feel better, if you care to do it (as suggested above).

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I greatly appreciate all of you coming and replying on this thread. This forum has been a great help to me.

·
Registered
2,410 Posts
Normally they would live an a moldy tree hole and do great in it.
That's a convenient 'hook' onto which I can hang this report ...