Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first Winter and neither of my hives have moved up into the upper deeps. Both have 7 to 8 frames of capped honey up there.

I fed the bees nearly all Winter and am worried that all of this feed prevented them from eating some of the honey up top (and thus opening up some cells for the queen to begin laying in.)

I stopped feeding two weeks ago (when I noticed they had so much honey stores), but am wondering if I should be feeding to make the queen start to lay with greater frequency.

Advise would be appreciated.

(Note: I need them to move up so that I can clean out the bottom deeps. For reasons that are related to being a newbie, I inadvertantly allowed them to comb up the bottom deeps so badly that they need to be seriously cleaned so that inspections are not the nightmare they were last Summer)

·
Registered
10,025 Posts
Besides space, the brood chamber needs to be kept in the 90s. If it is too cold she will not waste her time laying yet. The other component of brood production is protein. You could feed a protein supplement to encourage brood production.

·
Registered
2,532 Posts
You can remove a couple frames in the center of the top box and replace them with drawn empty ones. Don't feed anymore. You can extract out the frames from the top box and save that syrup/honey to feed back to them later. If you have some empty frames in the bottom box that you can get out swap them with frames in the top(center). Make sure it is warm enough when you do this.

·
Registered
7,835 Posts
Don't start feeding again. They should already be producing brood. We're already seeing some nectar flowing here. You are probably two or three weeks behind us. If you start feeding again, you're likely to have a honey bound hive in a couple of weeks...honey bound means that most of the cells in the hive are filled with honey and there's nowhere for the queen to lay eggs.