Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well.. I got my first sting today right behind my ear in the hair line. 30days as a newbie beek.

I have noticed that as my 2 hive grows, the bees seem to be more testy and will bump into my head to move away. 1-2 will now often follow me a good 100ft before finally clearing out. Since I'm new to this, Im trying to figure out what normal behavior is. One of my swarms is wild and I worry I have some AHB genetics in there. I cant really tell which hive these bumpers are coming from but my gut says the wild swarm.

Today, one was bumping me to leave and I guess I didn't move fast enough. I was being patient and moving back and got about 40ft from the hive and she was still bumping me and then she got tangled in my hair right behind my ear at which point, it felt like she was climbing into my ear and I lost it, panicked and attempted to remove/swat/dance in circles and got stung.. que rico!

I thought I was getting cool enough to skip the veil unless I was really digging into the hives but guess not quite.

Question for the team -- what is normal behavior for bees for following? If they were AHB, would I have seen a big different from the start I got the very first swarm?

Other data that may or may not be useful:

My wild hive went queenless and when I checked 7 days ago, there were 2 queen cells that appeared to be at the verge of hatching. Bush's bee math tells me that they probably hatched 6-7 days ago. I figured I would give the new queen 2 weeks before checking in on her. Is that enough time before checking in or her? Frankly, Im dying to go look for her but I suspect I'm responsible the hive went queenless in the first place so Im trying to do less inspections. The previous queen was rocking and rolling and then a week after that inspection, there were no eggs and 2 queen cups. boo.

·
Registered
477 Posts